Motor Boat Registration and Titling

General Information

All motor boat registrations and transfers are handled by the Woodford County Clerk’s Office. Kentucky law requires all boats having motors to be registered if operated on public waters. To register a boat you must have your registration certificate. Boat renewals and property tax payments may be processed in the same ways that you renew a motor vehicle except by the internet.

To correspond with us in writing, please address to:

Woodford County Clerk’s Office
103 South Main Street Suite 120
Versailles, KY 40383

To contact us by phone: 859-873-3421 or email: [email protected]

Property Tax

Every boat in Kentucky is assessed by the Property Valuation Administrator as of January 1st of each year. The tax rate is determined by each taxing jurisdiction and the tax liability is placed on the owner of record for each boat as of January 1. Taxes are due by the owner of record upon renewal or registration changes. If a boat is transfered prior to renewal, the owner of record as of January 1st is liable for the outstanding tax. To avoid delinquency, taxes should be paid immediately upon transfer. Delinquent taxes may prohibit transfer of title.

Transfer, Destruction Or Abandonment

When ownership of a currently registered boat changes, it is the responsibility of the purchaser to take the endorsed title to the county clerk and have the boat transferred into the name of the new owner. This procedure must be done upon completion of the transaction.

Whenever a vessel is transferred, the seller shall, within 15 days, give the county clerk notice of the transfer of his interest in the vessel.

Whenever a vessel is destroyed or abandoned, the owner shall, within 15 days, give notice to the county clerk to terminate the registration. The owner shall remove the numbers and decals from the vessel.

Registration Renewal

Persons may register in the county of their residence or the county of principal use. Boat registrations expire April 30 each year.

Boats registered in other states may be used for up to 60 consecutive days in Kentucky without registering here.

All boats operated in Kentucky must have the registration certificate on board. Boats that are rented from a marina or boat livery must have a lease agreement on board.

Registration Fees

$ 15.00 Trolling Motors
$ 25.00 1 foot to 16 feet ( 1 foot thru 15 feet 11 inches)
$ 29.00 16 feet to 26 feet (16 feet thru 25 feet 11 inches)
$ 35.00 26 feet to 40 feet (26 feet thru 39 feet 11 inches)
$ 39.00 40 feet and over
$ 40.00 Any class with inboard or inboard/outboard motors. Water Jet

The above costs do not include property taxes, clerks fees, titling fees or any other applicable charges. (301 KAR 6:005)

New Boat

The following documents and information are required:

o Manufacturer’s certificate of origin properly assigned to the buyer by the selling dealer
o Application for title/registration Boat Application TC 96-184
o Title Lien Statement TC96-187, if applicable (Outboard motors require filing on UCC with Secretary of State)
o Social Security number for each party appearing on the title or federal ID tax number for companies
o Invoice from the dealer, if purchased out of state.

Any delinquent property tax owed may prohibit title/registration.
NOTE: Boat trailers are required to be titled, they are not required to be licensed.

FEES

$ 9.00 Kentucky Title Fee
$ 22.00 Title Lien, if applicable
$ 2.00 Notary of Each Signature

If you purchased your new boat from an out of state dealer, you will be required to pay 6% sales tax on the purchase of your boat.

If you paid tax to the dealer, you will be given credit for the tax.

NOTES: Registration Fees will be calculated according to length of boat and type of motor.

Kentucky Boat Transfer

The following documents and information are required:

o Original title with assignment of title properly completed. Boats cannot be transferred if there are any unreleased liens appearing on the title of the boat. (Kentucky began titling boats in 1990)
o Boat Application TC 96-184 properly signed and notarized. Titles in two names joined by “AND” (as opposed to “OR”) require both signatures
o Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or federal ID tax number for companies
o Title Lien Statement TC96-187, if applicable

Delinquent taxes owed by either seller or buyer may prohibit transfer until the taxes are paid.

Boat trailers are required to be titled, they are not required to be licensed.

Out Of State Boat

The following documents and information are required:

o Original Title Properly signed by the seller.
o Application for title/registration Boat Application TC 96-184
o Title Lien Statement TC96-187, if applicable
o Proof of Sales/Use Tax Paid to the dealer, if purchased from a dealer.
o An invoice if purchased from a dealer or company.
o Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or federal ID tax number for companies

Some states do not issue boat titles. Contact the County Clerk’s office at 859-873-3421 to determine if the state does. If the state does not title boats, you will need to supply the County Clerk with the registration in the sellers name and a signed and notarized bill of sale.

If the seller has lost their title, they will need to apply for a duplicate from the state that issued the title.

Any delinquent property tax owed may prohibit title/registration.

Boat trailers are required to be titled, they are not required to be licensed.

Moving Your Boat To Kentucky For Customers Moving To KY

Kentucky requires that an application for title be made within 15 days of moving into the state.

o The following documents and information are required:
o Original Title
o Application for title/registration Boat Application TC96-184
o Title Lien Statement TC96-187, if applicable
o Social Security Number for each party appearing on the title or federal ID tax number for companies

Some states do not issue boat titles. If the state does not title boats, you will need to supply the County Clerk with your registration.

If you have lost your title, you will need to apply for a duplicate from the state that issued the title.
Boat trailers are required to be titled, they are not required to be licensed.

Woodford County Clerk
Sandra V. Jones
103 South Main Street, Suite 120
Versailles, KY 40383

CONTACT US
Office: 859-873-3421
Fax: 859-873-6985
Email: [email protected]

OFFICE HOURS
Monday-Thursday: 8:00-4:00
Friday: 8:00-5:30

VIEW OUR HOLIDAY HOURS

Recent Posts

Archives